Posted by on Aug 2, 2021 in Events, Fellowship, Membership | 0 comments


July 31, 2021, Cagayan de Oro City. It was a memorable night of recognition, learning, and encouragement.The successful 31st Induction and Turnover Ceremonies of the Rotary Club of Cagayan de Oro East Urban was done via Zoom. Albeit it being online, more than 60 RCEU members attended along with our dignitaries and guests who graced the occasion.
It was a nostalgic moment when IPP Daisy Tiu banged the gavel for the last time to call the induction ceremonies to order. Right after IPP Daisy called the program to order, PE Shirley “Goldie” Serate gave the welcome address, followed by the formal acknowledgment of dignitaries and guests by PAG Rosalind “Linda” Caragos.

An outpouring of congratulatory messages was written and heard as IPP Daisy completed her valedictory address. PDG Fe “Bing” Juarez led the Past Presidents in presenting IPP Daisy her leadership award. Messages of support and felicitations were likewise given to our newly inducted President Biema Along as she accepted the charge and the responsibility of leading the officers and club to serve the community with love, compassion, and competence.
The new members and officers were filled with so much enthusiasm and understood well the responsibilities and challenges that lay ahead this new Rotary after they were charged by DGN Gilda “Gigi” Go and IPDG Rogelio “Bong” Buot, Jr. Respectively. The resolve to adhere to their commitment was further cemented with the oath of membership and oath of office officiated by PDG Rosalinda “Linda” Deleste and our beloved district Governor John Mark Sarraga.

Turnover of Pin

Induction 5


officers induction

The emphasis for true and genuine servant leadership was given by our keynote speaker The Regional Rotary Foundation Coordinator of Zone 10A, PDG Virgilio “Jun” Farcon, Jr. He quoted that a servant leader is someone who puts others ahead of his own agenda, possesses the confidence to serve, initiates service to others, is not position conscious, and serves out of love. What a wonderful reminder for all those present that night. He then connected this and reminded us to live up to our Rotary motto of Service above self and that if we want to lead on the highest level, we should be willing to serve on the lowest.

TRF Awardees were given due recognition that night, highlighting the major donors PDG Fe Juarez, PP Lily Lim, and PP Erlinda Go. Added to the Paul Harris Society is Rtn. Ann Aquino, who pledged to continuously donate to the foundation. Congratulations also to the 3 new Paul Harris members Rtn. Visminda Deveza, Rtn. Alex Faburada and Rtn. Bing Dacudao. We know you will soon be counted and added to the list of multiple Paul Harris Fellows in the club which we currently have 12 now, namely CP Ybeth Yu, IPP Daisy Tiu, Rtn. Grace Go, PAG Myra Balandra, PP Ching Ferrer, PP Joy Gan, PP Bing Aton, PP Evita Arvisu, PP Ophie De La Cerna, Rtn. Jennie Mendez and PP Juliette Uy. The sustaining members were also acknowledged and we thank all the members for making the club once again an EREY awardee for the last Rotary Year. Recognition and honors were given to the members who contributed their 3 Ts, Time, Talent, and Treasure during the Rotary year and fellowship ensued after VP Lina Kwong did her closing remarks all the way from New York and President Biema adjourned the event formally.
Thanking once again our dear friends and fellow Rotarians for gracing the occasion:

1 DG John Mark and Lady Ching Sarraga
2 IPDG Rogelio “Bong” Buot Jr.
3 PDG Manuel “Manny” Along
4 PDG Rosalinda “Linda” R. Deleste
5 PDG. Virgilio “Jun” Farcon Jr.
6 PDG Danny & Dr. Angeline Low
7 DGN Gilda “Gigi” O. Go
8 DS Agustin “Gus” Rodano
9 AG Katrina D. Saragga
10 AG Dale Lagonera
11 PP Maite D. Saragga
12 Pres. Jimmy “Jim” Casino
13 Pres. Clifford Roa
14 Pres. Julie Zafra
15 Pres. Mae Linaac
16 Pres. Imee Garcia- Gatinao
17 Pres. Macel Seno
18 Pres. Zarah Rotoras
19 Pres. Jong Oliveros
20 Pres. Kyla Bagsic
21 PP Josephine “Jo” Yap
22 IPP Margaret “Marga” Divinagracia
23 Rotaract Pres. Ivan Rey Altomera
24 Rotaract IPP Paul Miki Sajulla
25 Rotaract PP Christy Bacoto
26 Rotaract Sec. Anna Sumalinog

And most importantly, the family of Pres. Biema who were all present to show her their full love and support.

Special thanks to our fellowship team Rtn. Bing Dacudao and Rtn. Karina Olivades for running the raffles portion of the night and sincerest thanks to our 2 lively emcees, Rtn. Melanie Talimio and Rtn. Stephanie Caragos. The online event would not have been possible without the hardworking technical team led by Sec. Pam Salon with Rtn. Ann Aquino and Syntactics Officers Carl Pontillas and Jalou Batilong.

Thank you to everyone who graced our event and we look forward to working with you this Rotary Year!

You can watch the full video of the induction below:

Facebook post with photos